CFMC Honors Chatman, Kalayjian, Pastorello, and Royston for service

CFMC celebrated and thanked four Board members for their years of service to the community at its December meeting. William Chatman (Essex), Marcia Kalayjian (Clinton), Tom Pastorello (East Hampton), and David Royston (Old Saybrook) completed their terms as members of the Board of Directors in December 2013.

“These individuals have each helped to move the Community Foundation forward during their terms on the Board,” explained John Biddiscombe, Chairman, CFMC Board of Directors. “The outreach efforts, the expanded relationships with investors, and the grant making impact of the Community Foundation are directly related to their passion to grow the Community Foundation and their commitment make Middlesex County a better place to live, work and play.”

Bill Chatman joined the CFMC Board of Directors in 2007 and has served on the Development Committee, the Personnel Committee, and the Elizabeth Swaim Arts Enrichment Fund Committee. Bill has chaired the Personnel Committee for four years, providing insight and direction for the Community Foundation and its operations.

Marcia Kalayjian was elected to the Board of Directors in 2005 and brought her passion and dedication to several committees, including Development, Governance, Grants and By-Laws Review. She served four years as the Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors and was elected Chairman in 2011 and 2012. Through her leadership as the chairman, the Community Foundation celebrated its 15th anniversary with a “Grow

David Royston, Marcia Kalayjian, Bill Chatman, and Tom Pastorello
David Royston, Marcia Kalayjian, Bill Chatman, and Tom Pastorello

the Foundation” campaign which resulted in $3.9 million dollars in gifts and pledges, a rebranding initiative, and the development of a new website, new logo and new name.

Serving since 2008, Tom Pastorello worked to ensure the Community Foundation financial practices are open and transparent. Serving on the Finance & Investment Committee and as the Chairman of the Audit Committee, Tom’s extensive experience in finance ensured the highest standards of stewardship of the donors’ funds.

Since 2007, David Royston’s attention to detail and comprehensive understanding of governance aided the Community Foundation in many areas. Serving on the Development Committee and Grants Committee during his first term, Dave served as the Chair of the Grants Committee and worked with a subcommittee to streamline the procedures and identify CFMC’s grant making focus areas. Dave served as Board Chairman in 2009 and 2010, and led CFMC in a five year strategic plan initiative. Royston served on the Development and Grants Committees and most recently participated on the Finance & Investment Committee and the Personnel Committee.

“Donor investors, nonprofits and the broader community have benefited greatly from the service of these four individuals,” Cynthia Clegg, President & CEO, CFMC, stated. “They provided so much experience to the community, always focusing on the impact – the positive results – that comes from working together. Through their leadership and their love of Middlesex County, the future for everyone is definitely better and brighter. We – all of Middlesex County – have been fortunate to have these four people working on our behalf for so many years. We are delighted that they will continue working, continue promoting, the great work of our investors, our nonprofits and the Community Foundation for years to come.”

Translate »
Skip to content